For the first time in Post Office history we are recruiting two Postmaster Non-Executive Directors to sit on the Post Office Board.

The candidates have been shortlisted by an independent panel of retail and industry experts.

It’s now over to Postmasters to vote for two candidates they want on the Board.

Elections open for three weeks

The election voting website is now live on the following link, and everyone can watch a video from our CEO Nick Read and find out more about the voting process.

Election voting opens: Monday 22 March.
Election voting closes: Monday 12 April at 9.30am.

The election process is being overseen independently by Civica Elections Services.

Your voting email

On Monday 22 March, Postmasters will receive an email directly from Civica Elections Services (CES) with a unique link which has a built-in personal security code that will give you access to vote. The link is unique to you and should not be forwarded onto anybody else.

Please note; The email will come from CES on the following email address:, and will be sent to the email address you receive your monthly remuneration statements. The email subject line is: Voting open for the Postmaster Non-Executive Director Elections for Post Office Ltd.

Your email will include a link to the election platform and from there you can go to the voting website by clicking on “View candidates or cast your vote now” button where you can watch video statements from the six candidates and cast your vote.

If you have not received your email and believe you are eligible to vote, please check your spam/junk email in the first instance.

If you have any questions, please email

The Postmaster Non-Executive Director role

The Postmaster Non-Executive Directors will be no different from any of the other Non-Executive Directors on the Board. The roles will help shape the strategic agenda to support specific opportunities and challenges facing the Post Office and contribute to the quality of board debate. They can provide input about issues that are important to Postmaster businesses, while taking decisions about the future direction of the Post Office in the interests of the company as a whole. The two Postmaster Non-Executive Directors will have the same duties as other Board Directors and will be required to attend regular meetings, manage conflicts of interest and treat Board matters confidentially.

The role specification is available here.


Six candidates are contesting in the elections. Their details are below and on the left panel.

It is entirely your choice on who to vote for. You have one vote, and you can select up to two candidates to be elected by marking a ‘X’ by the candidates name. Postmasters can vote for only one candidate if they choose to.

Click on the candidate name below to read a short statement and see contact details if you have a question.

Candidate videos are available on the elections website and are only viewable to voting Postmasters.

​Code of Conduct

We want to make sure the election process is conducted in a positive spirit in the interest of candidates and voters. Please read our Election Code of Conduct here.



Lee Dearn
Postmaster for Sydenham, Belfast, County Antrim

  Mukhtar Goraya
Operates two Post Offices (New Eltham, London and Rosherville, Kent)
  Saf Ismail
Operates six Post Offices (five in Lancashire – Blackpool Road, Bolton, Heywood, New Hall Lane, Plungington Road) and Farnworth, Greater Manchester
  Elliot Jacobs
Operates seven Post Offices (five in London – Camden, Crouch End, East Finchley, Muswell Hill, Stoke Newington) and Hertford and Potters Bar in Hertfordshire
  Jasbir Parmar
Postmaster for Kempston, Bedfordshire
  Sarabjeet Soar
Postmaster for Styvechale, Warwickshire